top of page

2020 Scholarship Recipients

The Rochester Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Rochester) and The Architectural Foundation of Greater Rochester (AFGR) have again partnered to help the next generation of architects pursue their training.


Eight merit-based scholarships totaling $15,000 have been awarded to students heading to school this fall to study architecture courtesy of AIA Rochester and the AFGR, with contributions from AIA National, Bergmann Associates, Women in Architecture, the Family of Myron Starks, and the newly established Legacy Fund - this year awarded in memory of Thomas A. Zimmerman, FAIA, a prominent local architect and past president of AFGR.


Three 2020 high school graduates were awarded scholarships for their first year of schooling. Ashley Aurand of Fairport High School, Emma Baker-Kenyon of The Harley School, and Hanna Ruth of Our Lady of Mercy School for Young Women each received an AIA Rochester/AFGR Scholarship. Aurand and Baker-Kenyon earned $1,000 each to attend Kent State and Syracuse University respectively, and Ruth earned $1,500 to attend SUNY Buffalo.


AIA Rochester/AFGR scholarships were also awarded to college students:  A.J. Gartland, attending SUNY Alfred State; Sara Hall, attending RIT; Mason Malsegna, attending Syracuse University; MaryElisabeth Hanley, attending Notre Dame; and Colin Thompson, attending SUNY Alfred State. Additionally, Gartland earned a $2,500 Bergmann Associates Scholarship, Hall earned a $1,500 Women in Architecture Scholarship, Malsegna earned a $1,500 Starks Family Scholarship, and Thompson earned a $1,000 Legacy Fund: In Memory of Thomas A. Zimmerman, FAIA Scholarship.


 The scholarship winners were publicly recognized at AIA Rochester's online Design Awards Gala on September 25.

bottom of page