top of page

2021 Scholarship Recipients

2021 winners collage.jpg

The Rochester Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Rochester) and The Architectural Foundation of Greater Rochester (AFGR) have again partnered to help the next generation of architects pursue their training.


Nine merit-based scholarships totaling $17,000 have been awarded to students heading to school this fall to study architecture courtesy of AIA Rochester and the AFGR, with contributions from AIA National, Bergmann Associates, Women in Architecture, and the Family of Myron Starks.


Four 2021 high school graduates were awarded scholarships for their first year of college.  Fairport High School’s Mackendra Nobes was awarded a $2500 AIA Rochester scholarship to attend Kent State University.  Jack Ciranni of Canandaigua Academy received a $1500 AIA Rochester scholarship to attend Penn State and Cecilia Ebersold of Penfield High School received a $1000 AIA Rochester scholarship towards SUNY Buffalo. Hannah Lake of Lyons High School earned a $500 AIA National scholarship to attend SUNY Morrisville.


College students Ali Alsaedi and Paras Nandu, both attending Rochester Institute of Technology, were each awarded a $2500 AIA Rochester scholarship. Ting Li, also of RIT, earned a $1500 Women in Architecture scholarship and a $1000 AIA Rochester scholarship.  Alfred State’s Colin Thompson received the $2500 Bergmann scholarship and Rebecca Gregg of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute received the $1500 Myron Starks scholarship.


 The scholarship winners were publicly recognized at AIA Rochester's online Design Awards Gala on June 11, 2021.

Subscribe to AIA Rochester's social media outlets and visit this website early next year for information about the 2022 scholarship program. Applications will be due in spring of 2022.

bottom of page